MCA Faculty Recipients of Benjamin Goodman and Dorothy Sturm Awards

Contact: Carrie Corbett VP for Communications & Marketing (901)272-5111

June 6, 2016

Photo_Faculty Awards web

Memphis College of Art Faculty Recipients of Benjamin Goodman and Dorothy Sturm Awards

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — Two Memphis College of Art faculty received special recognition with the awarding of the Benjamin Goodman Faculty Award and the Dorothy Sturm Distinguished Teaching Award at the college’s commencement on Saturday, May 14. This was the first year for the awards to be given, and their creation was made possible by support from an endowment fund established by Brig Klyce and Ellen Klyce.

Dean and Vice President for Academic Affairs Remy Miller was the recipient of the Benjamin Goodman Faculty Award in recognition of the longevity of his full-time service to the college. In September, Miller will have taught at the college as a full-time faculty member for 29 years, with 6 of those years as Dean and Vice President for Academic Affairs. This award will be given to a faculty member annually at the college’s commencement based on the length of full-time service to the college, with no individual faculty member receiving the award more than once.

Associate Professor Ellen Daugherty, who is the head of the Liberal Arts division, was awarded the Dorothy Sturm Distinguished Teaching Award in recognition of teaching excellence. This award will be given biennially at the college’s commencement based on a faculty member’s student course evaluations from the previous three years, colleague assessments, and other evidence of an overall high quality of teaching in an arts environment without regard to seniority.

More information about Benjamin Goodman & Dorothy Sturm:

Benjamin Goodman was a prominent lawyer in Memphis who lived a life of service, both to his country and to the city of Memphis. A veteran of World War II, Goodman served in the United States Air Force in England and Germany from 1942–1946 and practiced law at the same firm as partner for nearly 55 years. In addition to serving on several other local and national boards and holding numerous leadership positions throughout his lifetime, Goodman was active in the affairs of the Memphis Academy of Arts (now MCA) for over 40 years—serving on the board of trustees, directing the college as president from 1955–1959, and providing legal counsel. The college awarded him an honorary humanities doctorate in 1978 in recognition of his dedication to the school.

Dorothy Sturm was a pioneer of the pure abstraction movement in the 1930s and 1940s, and a founding faculty member at the Memphis Academy of Arts. Her passion for contemporary art was an influential force in the artistic trajectory of the college. Sturm was also a founding member of Art Today, an organization committed to the appreciation of contemporary art and the support of the Memphis Brooks Museum of Art. The five members of Art Today sponsored lectures and exhibitions at the museum, and eventually gifted artwork to their permanent collection by notable artists such as Jackson Pollock. In addition to her personal work, Sturm gained international acclaim in 1960 for her medical illustrations of normal and abnormal blood cells in The Morphology of Human Blood Cells, a textbook still used today in medical schools throughout the country.

Photo: VP for Academic Affairs Remy Miller (left) and Associate Professor Ellen Daugherty (right)

Memphis College of Art provides a rigorous curriculum in an intimate, diverse community to empower generations of leading artists, designers and educators to flourish professionally and contribute valuable ideas to society. The region’s only independent art and design college, MCA is fully accredited with expert, nationally renowned faculty and grants BFA, MFA, MA in Art Education and MA in Teaching degrees with graduates excelling in various careers across the country and internationally. For more information, visit Follow us on Facebook at and on Twitter at @memphisart.

Memphis College of Art does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, religion, age, veteran status, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, or other status protected by law. Additional Information