Design for the Future Campaign

In mid-2007, MCA initiated a $10 million, multi-year capital campaign to increase scholarship funding, enhance curriculum, augment existing facilities, construct a second residence hall, purchase and renovate a new graduate center, and grow our endowment.  Our campaign, Design for the Future, was created to increase student enrollment and secure financial stability.  Fundamentally, our goals are to improve the educational and living experiences of our students and to help increase MCA’s enrollment to a sustainable maximum while retaining the charisma of a small and intimate art college.  The anticipated capital and endowment improvements will also strengthen our financial stability and ensure that we are positioned for the future.

Generous campaign gifts have enabled us to increase our scholarship awards to over $3 million, resulting in remarkable enrollment growth over the past three years.  We were also able to complete construction of Fogelman Hall, our new student residence that mirrors existing Metz Hall on Barksdale Avenue, and, as a result, we are now able to safely house in excess of 165 students campus wide.  Renovation of the basement and first three levels of the new Nesin Graduate School, located in the heart of the historic downtown arts district at 477 South Main Street, was completed in October 2010.  Our new graduate school will facilitate growth of our existing MFA and Art Education graduate programs and implementation of planned new programs, such as a new MFA in Graphic Design.  The repurposing of Rust Hall, to include new studio space, liberal arts classrooms, state-of-the-art computer labs, and new digital media shooting studio and sound lab, is underway.

Of our $10 million goal, we have received in excess of $7.5 million in pledges and payments, primarily from individual and foundation donors. It is due to the unparalleled loyalty and generosity of our extended MCA family that we have measured such success in our campaign to date, and we will do everything within our power to ensure your lasting trust in our ability to steward your campaign gifts – and all gifts – effectively and appropriately.

We gratefully acknowledge our Design for the Future campaign donors.


Dr. and Mrs. Peter Formanek
Hyde Family Foundations
Mr. and Mrs. Michael McDonnell





The Assisi Foundation of Memphis
Center City Commission
Doug Ferris
Martha and Robert Fogelman Foundation
Dr. and Mrs. R. Marsh Gibson
Rose Johnston
The Klyce Family
The Metz Family
The Plough Foundation


Mr. and Mrs. Lee Askew III
Mr. and Mrs. Ron Ayotte
Gary Backaus and Margot McNeeley
Mr. and Mrs. James H. Barton, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Ronald A. Belz
Mr. and Mrs. David L. Bowlin
Thomas W. Briggs Foundation
Kathryn G. Cannon
The Eagle Family
First Tennessee Foundation
The Fulmer Family
Cecil C. Humphreys, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas C. Lee, Jr.
Macy’s Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Smithwick III
Megan Dunbar Turner


Suzanne and Walter Allen
Barbara Andrews
Mr. and Mrs. John H. Dobbs, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Molitor Ford, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. C. Penn Owen III
Regions Bank
Mr. and Mrs. Howard Stovall
Christine and Carroll Todd
Marc Willis
Mr. and Mrs. Donald Wilson
Mr. and Mrs. Philip R. Zanone, Jr.

Special thanks to ArtsMemphis, the Tennessee Arts Commission and the National Endowment for the Arts for their ongoing support.

NEA Logo

For more information or to contribute to our ongoing Design for the Future, please contact:

Laura Hine
Vice President for College Advancement 

Memphis College of Art
1930 Poplar Ave.
Memphis, TN 38104

Every Gift is Important.